Home › Cards › Self-custodial

Self-custodial crypto cards

Self-custodial crypto cards let you keep your own keys — the ones we track, ranked.

A self-custodial (or non-custodial) crypto card spends from a wallet you control, rather than a balance the provider holds for you. You keep the private keys, so there is no exchange counterparty holding your funds. Below are the self-custodial cards we track.

Quick answer. We track and verify 18 self-custodial crypto cards. Our top-rated right now: Bleap (8.9/10), Oobit (8.7/10), MetaMask Card (8.5/10). Rankings use our published scoring method and verified issuer data.

◆ #1 for Self-custodial

Bleap

Bleap
8.9/10

Why it wins. The Bleap card offers a strong combination of self-custody, cashback rewards, and fee-free transactions, making it a compelling choice for crypto-savvy users in Europe and Latin America.

RewardsUp to 20% cashback (20% streaming/gaming/AI subs; 3% rides & food delivery; 2% restaurants & supermarkets; 1% everything else), paid in USDC
Annual feeNone
CustodySelf-custodial
AvailabilityEurope and Latin America (incl. Mexico, Brazil)
More self-custodial cards
2

Oobit

Oobit
CashbackSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsUp to 10% cashback
Annual feeNone (card creation and holding free)
Availability100+ countries
8.7/10
3

MetaMask Card

MetaMask (Consensys), issued on Mastercard · Debit
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsVirtual: 1% mUSD back per transaction; Metal: 3% mUSD back on first $10,000 spend then 1%
Annual feeVirtual: free; Metal: $199/yr
Availability40+ countries incl. most EU, Canada, Latin America; Metal card available in the US; US and UK signups temporarily closed
8.5/10
#4

Gnosis Pay

Gnosis Pay (card issued by Monavate Limited under licence by Visa Europe Limited) · Debit
CashbackDebit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsUp to 5% cashback on eligible transactions, based on the amount of GNO held in wallet
Annual fee—
AvailabilityUK, EU (expanding)
8.4/10
#5

Zeal Card

Zeal (card issued by Monavate, via Gnosis Pay) · Debit
CashbackDebit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsUp to 4% cashback (cashback managed by Gnosis Pay, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain; requires holding GNO in the Gnosis Pay card Safe)
Annual fee—
Availability150+ countries
8.3/10
#6

Bitget Wallet Card

Bitget Wallet · Debit
CashbackDebit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards2% base assetback for all cardholders; up to 3% for new users or those meeting the $200–$400 monthly spend threshold. Assetback payable in BTC, gold, US stocks or USDC.
Annual fee$0
AvailabilityEEA & UK, Latin America (9 countries), APAC (10 regions), South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh
8/10
#7

Tangem Pay

Tangem AG (card issued by Rain / Third National; program with Rain) · Virtual
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsTiered cashback: Basic 1% (cap $100/mo), Plus 2% (cap $300/mo), Prestige 4% (cap $1,000/mo)
Annual feeBasic $0/mo; Plus $29.99/mo (waived with $4,500 monthly spend or $65,000 in Yield Mode); Prestige $999/year
AvailabilitySelect countries across USA, LATAM, APAC, MEA and Africa
8/10
#8

Crypto Life (CL) Card

Baanx · Debit
CashbackDebit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards1% reward on total card transactions (in BTC or USDT), or 2% if reward is taken in BXX
Annual feeNone (free card, no subscription fee)
Availability—
7.7/10
#9

Fuse Card

Fuse (fusewallet.com) · Virtual
Self-custodialStablecoin ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards—
Annual fee—
Availability18+ countries (US excl. NY and AK)
7.5/10
#10

Mercuryo Card

Mercuryo · Virtual
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsNone at launch (referral/cashback rewards announced as coming soon)
Annual feeNo issuance fee; €1/month maintenance only after 3 consecutive months of inactivity (waived on resuming use)
AvailabilityEEA only (initial launch)
7.4/10
#12

Decaf Card

Decaf · Debit
CashbackDebit ◷ Data being verified
RewardsSAMO cash-back (stated in decaf.so marketing; not re-verified)
Annual fee—
AvailabilityCash withdrawal in 175+ countries via MoneyGram (184 currencies per marketing)
7.4/10
#13

Solayer Emerald Card

Solayer · Debit
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsOn-chain rewards / Card Points & Perks program (points-based, not fiat cashback)
Annual fee—
AvailabilityGlobal — usable anywhere Visa is accepted; regional eligibility restrictions apply
7.2/10
#14

Cake Pay

Cake Labs (Cake Wallet) · Prepaid
No-KYCPrepaid ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards—
Annual feeNone (products sold at face value)
AvailabilityMost countries supported (merchant catalog varies by selected country)
7.1/10
#15

Deblock Card

Deblock · Debit
CashbackDebit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsUp to 1% cashback on card payments (Premium and Native plans; not included on free Standard plan)
Annual fee€0 (Standard); Premium €14.99/month; Native free with a Deblock NFT held 30+ days
Availability—
7/10
#16

Ether.fi Cash

ether.fi · Credit
CashbackCredit ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
RewardsCash back on every purchase (specific rate not stated on official pages read)
Annual fee—
Availability—
6.6/10
#17

Payy Card

Payy (Payy Network) · Debit
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards—
Annual fee—
Availability—
6.6/10
#18

Holyheld

Holyheld (Swiss fintech; card issued by a licensed partner) · Debit
DebitSelf-custodial ✓ Verified 2026-09-26
Rewards—
Annual feeCHF 0 (individuals, by invitation) / CHF 500 (companies)
Availability—
6.1/10

What “self-custodial” actually means

A self-custodial crypto card lets you spend from a wallet whose private keys only you hold, converting your crypto to local currency at the moment of payment. Nothing sits with an exchange or card issuer waiting to be spent — your funds stay in your own wallet until a transaction is signed. That is the core difference from the majority of crypto cards, which are custodial: with those, you top up a balance the provider holds on your behalf. If the phrase “not your keys, not your coins” resonates with you, this is the category to compare.

How a self-custodial card works

You connect the card to a wallet you control — often a smart-contract or mobile wallet. When you pay, the card authorises the purchase in local currency, and the required amount of crypto is converted from your wallet at that instant, sometimes settling on-chain. The merchant is paid in ordinary money, exactly as with any card, and works anywhere Visa or Mastercard is accepted, including Apple Pay and Google Pay. The important distinction is timing: your assets leave your custody only when you spend, not when you fund the card.

Custodial vs self-custodial: the core trade-off

Custodial cards are the easiest to use — top up, spend, done — but you trust the provider to stay solvent and secure, and you rely on it holding your funds. Self-custodial cards remove that counterparty risk: because you keep the keys, a provider failure or freeze cannot strand your balance. The price you pay is a little more setup, and sometimes on-chain fees. There is no universally correct answer; a frequent traveller who values simplicity may prefer custodial convenience, while a long-term holder focused on control will choose self-custody.

Why choose self-custody

The appeal is straightforward: control and reduced counterparty risk. Your crypto is not part of an exchange’s balance sheet, so it cannot be lost to a provider’s insolvency, mismanagement or an account freeze. For people who hold significant crypto and treat a card as a spending tap rather than a place to store funds, keeping custody until the point of sale is a meaningful safeguard. It also keeps you closer to the ethos that drew many people to crypto in the first place — ownership without an intermediary.

The trade-offs to weigh

Self-custody is not free of friction. Setup usually involves connecting a wallet and understanding a little more about how transactions are signed. Converting at the point of sale can involve on-chain gas fees, which vary with network conditions, so a self-custodial card can occasionally cost more per transaction than a custodial one. Availability is often narrower, too, and the range of supported coins and chains differs between products. None of this is a dealbreaker — but it is why we still weigh fees and usability alongside the custody model when we rank these cards.

Supported wallets, chains and coins

Self-custodial cards differ in which wallets they connect to and which chains they settle on. Before choosing, confirm that the card supports a wallet you are comfortable using, the chain your assets are on, and the specific coins you intend to spend. If you also hold a stablecoin such as USDC, check whether you can spend it directly — pairing a self-custodial setup with stablecoin spending is a popular way to combine control with predictable costs.

Do self-custodial cards still require KYC?

Often, yes — at least in part. Even when your funds stay self-custodied, the card itself runs on Visa or Mastercard through a regulated issuer, which usually means some identity verification to stay compliant with local rules. Some self-custodial products reduce the data they collect compared with a full exchange account, but genuine, complete anonymity is rare in regulated card products. If minimising data sharing matters to you, compare the specific requirements on each card’s page.

Security considerations

Self-custody shifts responsibility to you: protecting your wallet’s keys and recovery phrase becomes essential, because there is no provider to reset a lost password. In exchange, you remove the single biggest risk of custodial cards — someone else holding your money. Sensible practice is the same as for any wallet: safeguard your recovery phrase offline, use hardware or reputable smart-contract wallets where possible, and enable every app-level control the card offers, such as spending limits and freezes.

Rewards on self-custodial cards

Self-custodial cards can still pay cashback, though the very highest headline rates are more often found on custodial products that lean on staking their own token. If rewards are your priority, weigh a self-custodial card’s rate against a dedicated cashback card, and decide how much a lower rate is worth to you in exchange for keeping custody. For many users the security benefit outweighs a percentage point of cashback.

How we rank self-custodial cards

Every card is scored on the same six factors — fees, rewards, coins and networks, availability, usability and trust — with no pay-for-placement. For this category we give real weight to the custody model itself: that funds remain in a wallet you control until you spend. We still check on-chain and conversion fees, supported wallets and chains, and country availability, because a self-custodial card that is expensive or unavailable where you live is no better than a custodial one you cannot use. See our methodology for the full rubric.

Who a self-custodial card suits

These cards suit holders who want to reduce counterparty risk and keep control of their assets until the moment they spend, and who are comfortable managing a wallet. They are less suited to people who want the absolute simplest possible experience, or who prioritise the highest cashback rate above all else. If custody is not your main concern, our cashback, travel and stablecoin rankings may point you to a better fit.

Getting the most from a self-custodial card

Keep only what you plan to spend accessible to the card and leave long-term holdings in deep cold storage; safeguard your recovery phrase before you fund anything; check on-chain fees so a small purchase is not swamped by gas; and consider spending a stablecoin balance for everyday costs so predictability sits alongside your control. The ranked cards above are scored on the same rubric as every card we track — put two side by side in the comparison tool, or narrow the field with the card finder.

Full data

Self-custodial cards compared

Every self-custodial card we track, side by side — fees, rewards, custody and networks.

CardScoreTypeNetworksAnnual feeFX feeRewardsCustody
Bleap 8.9/10 — Mastercard None None (0%, no markup) Up to 20% cashback (20% streaming/gaming/AI subs; 3% rides & food delivery; 2% restaurants & supermarkets; 1% everything else), paid in USDC Self-custodial
Oobit 8.7/10 — Visa None (card creation and holding free) — Up to 10% cashback Self-custodial
MetaMask Card 8.5/10 Debit Mastercard Virtual: free; Metal: $199/yr No additional MetaMask fee (uses Mastercard's exchange rate) Virtual: 1% mUSD back per transaction; Metal: 3% mUSD back on first $10,000 spend then 1% Self-custodial
Gnosis Pay 8.4/10 Debit Visa — — Up to 5% cashback on eligible transactions, based on the amount of GNO held in wallet Self-custodial
Zeal Card 8.3/10 Debit Visa — No exchange fees; uses Visa mid-market rate Up to 4% cashback (cashback managed by Gnosis Pay, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain; requires holding GNO in the Gnosis Pay card Safe) Self-custodial
Bitget Wallet Card 8/10 Debit Visa/Mastercard (by region) $0 — 2% base assetback for all cardholders; up to 3% for new users or those meeting the $200–$400 monthly spend threshold. Assetback payable in BTC, gold, US stocks or USDC. Self-custodial
Tangem Pay 8/10 Virtual Visa Basic $0/mo; Plus $29.99/mo (waived with $4,500 monthly spend or $65,000 in Yield Mode); Prestige $999/year — Tiered cashback: Basic 1% (cap $100/mo), Plus 2% (cap $300/mo), Prestige 4% (cap $1,000/mo) Self-custodial
Crypto Life (CL) Card 7.7/10 Debit Mastercard, Visa None (free card, no subscription fee) — 1% reward on total card transactions (in BTC or USDT), or 2% if reward is taken in BXX Self-custodial
Fuse Card 7.5/10 Virtual Visa — — — Self-custodial
Mercuryo Card 7.4/10 Virtual Mastercard No issuance fee; €1/month maintenance only after 3 consecutive months of inactivity (waived on resuming use) — None at launch (referral/cashback rewards announced as coming soon) Self-custodial
Moon Virtual Card 7.4/10 Virtual Visa — 0% (no FX / foreign transaction fees) — Self-custodial
Decaf Card 7.4/10 Debit Visa (per decaf.so marketing; not re-verified on fetched pages) — — SAMO cash-back (stated in decaf.so marketing; not re-verified) Self-custodial
Solayer Emerald Card 7.2/10 Debit Visa — — On-chain rewards / Card Points & Perks program (points-based, not fiat cashback) Self-custodial
Cake Pay 7.1/10 Prepaid Visa, Mastercard (per cakepay.com) None (products sold at face value) — — Self-custodial
Deblock Card 7/10 Debit — €0 (Standard); Premium €14.99/month; Native free with a Deblock NFT held 30+ days — Up to 1% cashback on card payments (Premium and Native plans; not included on free Standard plan) Self-custodial
Ether.fi Cash 6.6/10 Credit Visa — — Cash back on every purchase (specific rate not stated on official pages read) Self-custodial
Payy Card 6.6/10 Debit Visa — — — Self-custodial
Holyheld 6.1/10 Debit — CHF 0 (individuals, by invitation) / CHF 500 (companies) — — Self-custodial

Quick facts

Cards tracked18
Top ratedBleap · 8.9
No annual fee7
NetworksVisa & Mastercard

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best self-custodial crypto card?
Our current top-rated pick is Bleap (8.9/10), followed by Oobit. The best card for you also depends on your country and spending habits.
How many self-custodial crypto cards are there?
We currently track 18 self-custodial cards, each scored on the same rubric and re-checked against the issuer’s documentation.
Are these rankings paid placements?
No — they’re editorial. Affiliate links may earn us a commission but never move a card up the list. See our rating method for details.

Find your card → Compare side by side